Miscellaneous Policy Committee

Includes State agencies not covered by other Policy Committees, including the Arts Commission; Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals; Department of Commerce; Criminal Justice Training Commission; DSHS Vocational Rehabilitation Division and the Community Services Section of Juvenile Rehabilitation Administration; Enterprise Services; Health; Health Care Authority; Horse Racing Commission; Human Rights Commission; Consolidated Technology Services; Insurance Commissioner; Licensing, Lottery; Military Department; School for the Blind; Center for Childhood Deafness and Hearing Loss; Secretary of State; State Patrol; Utilities and Transportation Commission, and others.

WFSE/AFSCME’s ten Policy Committees ensure that you have a voice for the work-related issues unique to the kind of work you do. They meet to discuss, debate and set policy on issues unique to the employees within the jurisdiction of their Council Policy Committee.

Council Policy Committees are made up of delegates selected by Local Unions. If you’re interested in learning how to become a delegate to a council policy committee, contact your local leadership.

Council Policy Committees usually meet three times a year. Every two years, following the biennial convention, they elect representatives to the Council Executive Board.

Every Council Policy Committee is allotted one board seat for every 500 members (or portion thereof), and each is guaranteed at least two seats.


  • Chair Bing Bristol (DES – Local 443); V-Chair Jeff Paulsen (CTS – Local 443); Secretary Charyn Niemeyer (HCA – Local 443)



* indicates required field


Comments are closed.